Fasting weekend (and changing blogs soon)

May 27, 2008

Thanks, Ned and lifeonward for your comments. I spent the weekend doing a 72-hour fast. I fully intended to make it a meditation/fast (I did get half-way through Wherever You Go There You Are by Jon Kabat-Zinn, which I read about somewhere in Ned’s journal , but discovered that after the first day, I was so depleted of energy, it was a struggle to even get up to sit for meditation or even worry about doing the mental exercise. I spent the rest of the fast finishing an excellent book I had been snailing my way through Labyrinth written by Kate Mosse. The last day of the fast, after breaking the fast, I meditated and did my yoga/tai chi.

My husband John did the fast with me. We spent most of the time talking about the huge pizza/turkey/ham/junkfest we would have when we broke the fast. It was fun imagining all of the very cool, evil things we would do. When we finally did break it, we were good. We had some rice/mung bean mush, and some steel-cut oatmeal. Then, later, we went to a local chinese dive and had moo shoo (John) and tofu/veggies. I was proud that we managed to not go crazy.

I will be starting a new blog when I get a chance (I’ve been so busy with work). I hate that I can’t do email postings with wordpress, that’s such a convenient way to post when I’m stretched for time. I think the new blog will be either blogger or livejournal, both of which I’ve used in the past.

I apologize for not reading anyone else’s blog. I’ve dropped out of the blogging because of incredible work pressures, and all of the other things happening in my life which are preventing me from having much time for writing. That’s really bad, and I hope it fixes itself soon, but in the meantime, I’m concentrating on my spirituality, tai chi, yoga, acupuncture, doing lots of vegetable juicing, and walking when I can.

Leave a Reply

