Emerson Umbrella Center for the Arts

May 1, 2008

Ok, I think it’s about time we pushed the “Anger Management” post down, what to you think?  I’ve been looking at my site for the past couple of weeks, and that post glares back at me as though to say “You’re not a Freakin’ Angry Person, why did you leave me entitled ‘Anger Management blah blah blah'”. 

And the answer is “Er..  cause I haven’t re-read you and I have no idea what you say?”

So here’s a filler to make up for the fact that I’m too lazy to read the “Anger Management…” post to figure out what the proper title should be for it.

It’s been weeks since I’ve written anything.  My fixation on my hives has been consuming, whiny, and well, not very creative or interesting.  Yesterday I told my chiropractor about them, and she said, “why don’t you try pricking them with a needle and putting vitamin E in them?”  So that’s what I’m doing.  Or rather John is doing to me, and in the past day they’ve felt better.  So maybe now I can move my life past them.   And that starts with my poor blog, that has been plagued with my goings on and on about them.

I’ve been searching for an appropriate spot for writing fodder — talking to different volunteer organizations and thinking through various venue possibilities for interesting and wonderful people and such.  Yesterday my chiropractor told me about an Earth Day event at a town close to where I live, sponsored by a nonprofit art organization Emerson Umbrella Center for the Arts.  I sent email to them asking about volunteer opportunities and I received a reply by someone named Morwen Two Feathers.  I blinked at the signature on that email Is that a joke, or some sort of online World of Warcraft toon?   I did a google on the name, and sure enough it seems to be a valid real life name.  How interesting is that?  This Morwen Two Feathers will be my first writing fodder from this organization.  Either she will be a corporate stiff, in which case she will give me a chuckle, or she will be some sort of artistic flamboyant madwoman, wearing feathers and wild-colored clothes, maybe with a shimmery, gossamer shawl flung over her shoulders.  Yes, I’m fully aware that there’s a stereotype in there somewhere.

So, I will be a volunteer at the Earth Day celebration this Saturday. I can’t wait to meet Morwen Two Feathers with all of her color and flamboyance (I’m thinking).  Maybe she’ll be like the character on Peanuts who walks around with the dustcloud around him, except for her it will be virtual particles of paint flying around her head as she walks around doing whatever it is artistic, creative people do. Maybe, I hope, some of her paint and wonderfulness will fly onto me. Will she be a HE, I wonder?

7 Responses to “Emerson Umbrella Center for the Arts”

  1. lifeonward said

    I missed your writing, yay for a new post! I can’t wait to hear what this Morwen Two Feathers person is like. What an unusual name!

  2. Jane said

    What a sweet morning that I have a comment from you in my blog! Now my day can start. Thank you!

  3. Jane said

    What a sweet morning that I have a comment from you in my blog! Now my day can start. Thank you!

  4. Ned said

    So good to see you around, Jane. I have to admit, I was getting worried. I love the image of a woman speckled with paint swirling around her head. That’s a character, no matter what Ms. Two Feathers might be. Much love and I hope the hives clear up.

  5. Jane said

    Morning Ned! I’m so sorry I haven’t been around lately. Health and work issues have abounded lately, and the hives still have good days and bad days. I’m in the process of looking for an acupuncturist now. Hopefully she/he might be able to help me tie the pieces together on what’s missing in my health regimen.

  6. Morwen said

    So this was interesting to find! I wonder, what did you think after you met me?
    Morwen

  7. Jane said

    How amazing that you found this 😀 I’m sorry I did not write follow-on stories, which I fully intended to do before my life fell by the wayside 😛 I have not blogged in a long time, and I believe that I will create a new blog someday, with easier posting capabilities.

Leave a Reply

