Bed Bugs!

April 11, 2008

Itchy, itchy, itchy, itchy, itchy…..  if you were to ask me how I was today, I’d say “itchy”.  If you were to have asked me that a week ago, I’d have said “itchy”!  How can something so relatively minor as a constant, nagging itchiness so consume a life?

So…  I have this all-over itching.  Itchy mosquito-bite-like bumps all over my body.  I’ve begun to have a spiritual relationship with my itchy bumps.  One day I swore I would not take my sleeping pill any more, thinking that maybe that was causing the itching.  The week after a course of mind-bending prescription cortisone cream and prednisone, I swore off doctors.  What was life like before itching?  I can’t remember.  What will life be like after itching?  Will I blossom into a spectacular, incredible writer?  Will my right brain pop out of my head crying, “I’m free!!!”?

Last night at midnight I crawled into bed.  John was just dozing off.  I turned over onto my right side, like I always do, tucked my right hand under my pillow, and hugged my body pillow, right leg underneath, and left leg and left arm on top.   “Wha……??  Goddammit, that’s it!”  I jumped out of bed.

John opened his eyes, orange earplugs sticking out of his ears, and blinked at me.

“Look!  get up, look!” I screamed going around to his side of the bed and turning on his light.  I pointed to every single itchy bump on my body, turning around and making sure he caught sight of everything, top to bottom.  “Look at my bumps!  Look at the pattern!  The right side of my body has about 10 times more bumps than the left side.  See that?  Those over there on my arm?  my back?  That’s the side that I sleep on.  We must have some sort of bugs on the bed biting me.”

John grunted his acknowledgement with polite interest and mumbled “we should fumigate”.  He turned over and went back to sleep, apparently confident that this revelation had nothing to do with him and his side of the bed.

2 Responses to “Bed Bugs!”

  1. silvercharm said

    Eew! Somehow bedbugs don’t sound very romantic. I wouldn’t put up with it for a second. If someone loves you, or even likes you at all, they wouldn’t let you sleep in such conditions! Even when camping, I don’t tolerate mosquitoes in the tent. They’re gone, baby, end of story.

  2. Jane said

    Speaking of camping, I moved my camping pad and sleeping bag onto the bed in our spare bedroom and will sleep there for a while 🙂 It may actually be the body pillow with the bugs (or allergy?), dunno. The body pillow and my other new pillow are now exiled to the basement, until I get to the bottom of this.

Leave a Reply

