Just Doing It

April 2, 2008

I have to write about a friend in my tai chi class.  She and her husband are in the software industry — high stressed, intensely left-brained jobs.  She’s been telling me about how, since she began her journey to tap into her creativity, she’s been writing poetry and songs.  A couple of weeks ago she brought a notebook of her songs and poetry to class, and I was floored with the beauty in what I read.  She told me that she and her husband began the journey into finding their creativity a year ago, and now they go to open mics and perform the songs and music that they compose.

Last night her husband brought his guitar and they performed a song that they co-wrote over the weekend.  It was a wonderful, thoughtful piece.  As I listened to them I thought to myself “they must have had music in their background”.

After their performance, I asked them what sort of music experience they had had.

“None, really.  I was in the chorus in high school.  She played at little piano…  neither of us has done anything since high school.”

“How could that be?” I asked.  “How do you know what notes to write down when you’re composing your songs?”

They each showed me their sheets.  On his sheet, above the words, were just the chord letters:  “C, G, F, A, etc.”  On her sheet were numbers:  “1 2 3 2 5 4 3 2 1…”  The increasing numbers said to go up the scale, and the decreasing numbers said to go down.  That’s all they had for the music.

I have, on one of the index cards taped to the wall in my office, the words “Just Do It”.  Maybe that’s all creativity is….  just doing it.  Not agonizing about how to get the words onto the paper, not fretting about doing it the “right way”.  Those two people inspire me, because this is exactly where I would like my journey to end up.  I want to open my brain so that my creativity breaks rules and conventions and finds a way to “just do it”.

4 Responses to “Just Doing It”

  1. lifeonward said

    Your writing style reminds me of one of my favorite authors, hes a Japanese author names Haruki Murakami. Have you heard of him? If you haven’t and if you would like to read his stuff i can send you a copy.

  2. damyantig said

    Just do it, it is. I wish I could.

  3. Hello, lifeonward. Thank you for your comment, and offer to send me your book. I’d love to read it; however, I have a stack of about 20 books that I should read (so it would take forever for me to read it). I will keep his name in mind, though. I should read him if I remind you of him!

    Damyantig, thank you for your comments. You’re like my butterfly that lands in my journal and leaves a memory 🙂

  4. damyantig said

    Lifeonward is right, you shoud read Murakami. “You’re like my butterfly that lands in my journal and leaves a memory”—-that’s a Murakami kind of sentence alright:)

Leave a Reply

