Writing About What I See

January 24, 2008

I will start my class today.  The class is a basic writing class:  English grammar and style.  I’m looking forward to it.  It’s nice to know I may have another career.  I need to be diligent and trust that I can do it.  Right now I get up in the morning, and meditate and write for 1/2 hour, and then after I exercise at night I read my writing books and then write until the end of the day and then meditate.

The class will be interesting.  I have been getting into the habit of writing about everything that I can think of in my day.  It means being a lot more attentive to the details in my day.  Last night I went out on the street for a 20 minute run and then for my writing last night I wrote about what I saw and how I felt.  Then this morning I incorporated some of those thoughts into my morning “Writing Practice”.  The Artist’s Way book talks about “Writing Practice” and “Writing Date”.  Writing Practice is 3 pages of writing that you do every morning, whether you feel like it or not.  You just write.  write write write, nonstop.  there’s no right or wrong, there’s just writing.  Writing Date is 2 hours that you give yourself every week to feed your creative side.  It’s 2 hours of doing anything — something fun — just to feed yourself, so that you can add to your storage of images, experiences, sounds, smells, etc.  And eventually those stores will be what you sort through as you pull out things to write about.

Anyway, this morning in my writing practice, I wrote a story.  Obviously it was writing practice, so it wasn’t a well thoughtout story.  Nevertheless, it was a fantasy tale that I was able to immerse myself into, and part of it involved this group of people walking down my very street, and talking to the people and the trees on my street.  It was quite nice.
Leave a Reply

